Martin Luther King, Jr., Award recipients announced

Four University of Oregon employees were honored at the 2011 Martin Luther King, Jr., Awards Ceremony in late January for their commitment to making the UO campus a welcoming place.

This year’s award recipients are Michael Hames-Garcia, a professor of ethnic studies; MaryAnn Glant, an early childhood assistant in the College of Education’s Early Childhood CARES program; biology professor Janis Weeks; and Tina Gutierez-Schmich, a professional development specialist in the Center on Diversity and Community.

The four were honored during a reception featuring UO President Richard Lariviere and Charles Martinez, the university’s vice president for institutional equity and diversity.

The UO’s Martin Luther King, Jr., Award was originally established to honor under-recognized classified staff whose activities and achievements help make campus a welcoming place to live, work and learn. The award has since been expanded to include recognition of university faculty and officers of administration whose contributions to the campus community exceed job expectations and exemplify ideals associated with Martin Luther King, Jr.

Criteria for MLK award nominees include fostering a welcoming environment and embodying King’s humanitarian spirit; setting a caring example by building morale and showing compassion; working toward cultural diversity and awareness; promoting diversity, social justice and equity; and demonstrating moral courage, adherence to the principles of non-violence and dedication to the ideals of social harmony.

The awards are given by the Office of Institutional Equity and Diversity, in collaboration with the Department of Human Resources.